The Friday Five: Watoto, Jeff Goins, Hans Zimmer, Antisocial, & Charles R. Swindoll.

[This blog has since moved to bybethanyjae.com. Head on over to check it out, I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised… x]

Welcome to ‘The Friday Five!’ 

This is basically a quick post every Friday that includes five things I’ve discovered, loved, or been inspired by this week. They’ll most likely include a charity, quote, blog post, song, website, video, picture, story, or person.

Why am I doing this? Several people have now told me how much they love following me on Twitter and reading this blog (hilarious!) because of the information they discover. So I thought, why not blog about the top five things that have inspired me this week – kind of like a personal journal of interesting information, but everyone can view it.

Without further adieu, here are ‘The Friday Five’ for this week. Enjoy!

1. DO-GOODERS: Watoto

“Watoto is an holistic care programme that was initiated as a response to the overwhelming number of orphaned children and vulnerable women in Uganda. It is positioned to rescue an individual, raise each one as a leader in their chosen sphere of life so that they in turn will rebuild their nation.”

I’ve known about Watoto for several years now, but after seeing the Watoto Children’s Choir at Enjoy Church for the second time and checking out their website, I fell in love. I’m a sucker for people’s life stories, so my favourite part of the website is hearing the children’s stories on the sponsorship page. You can’t help but see and get excited about how Uganda is starting to rebuild because of where the children came from, and where they are now going. Very inspiring.

Website: http://www.watoto.com/home

2. BLOG POST: “The Difference Between A Good Writer and A Bad Writer” by Jeff Goins

The whole post is simply a-maz-ing!! But this is probably my favourite line:

“Don’t coast on talent alone. Let it remind you of the responsibility you have to honor your gift.”

Read the rest of the post here.

(He’s also a super interesting tweeter with a wealth of information. Even if you’re not a writer, you’ll learn a lot from him. Follow him @JeffGoins.)

3. SONG: “Time” by Hans Zimmer

4. WEBSITE: Antisocial

Antisocial is a program that you can download for your Mac. It basically blocks any websites that distract you when you’re trying to work (example: Facebook, Twitter, Hotmail) for however long you want. If you want to view the sites you’ve blocked before they’re unblocked, you have to reboot your Mac. I currently have it running because I have an assignment due today. So Twitter and Facebook have been blocked for 400 minutes (probably should have blocked WordPress as well…)

Website: http://anti-social.cc/

5. QUOTE: Charles R. Swindoll

“I believe the single most significant decision I can make on a day-to-day basis is my choice of attitude. It is more important than my past, my education, my bank roll, my successes or failures, fame or pain, what other people think of me or say about me, my circumstances, or my position. Attitude keeps me going or cripples my progress. It alone fuels my fire or assaults my hope. When my attitudes are right, there’s no barrier too high, no valley too deep, no dream too extreme, no challenge to great for me.” – Charles R. Swindoll.

Beth, x

One response to “The Friday Five: Watoto, Jeff Goins, Hans Zimmer, Antisocial, & Charles R. Swindoll.

  1. Thanks for the link, and great quote from Swindoll!

Leave a Reply

